Corvo: Mutettorum quinque vocum

We know very little about the life of Giovanni Battista Corvo (fl. 1554-5). His Liber primus mutettorum quinque vocum was published by Antonio Gardano in Venice, in 1555. He was probably from Como and dedicated the collection to Alessandro Farnese. Some of Corvo's motets are rather uncommon, as they are designated to unusual Saints like St. Julian, St. Severin and St Provino di Como ("Beati Provini Episcop Comensis"). The last three motets of the Mutettorum quinque vocum are the outstanding Qui primum terris for six voicesdedicated to Camillo Mentovati, Apostolic Nuncio to Poland, Cum terris cuperent caelestia for eight voices, dedicated Ippolito II d'Este, and Nunc dimittis, for nine voices (SSAAATTBB).

Unlike the previous Cum terris cuperent caelestiaNunc dimittis is written in an almost typical polychoral style, with two choirs of five voices each (one voice carries on singing when the other choir begins). We are proud to start our complete edition of the Mutettorum quinque vocum by Giovanni Battista Corvo with this outstanding and unknown motet for nine voices. 

You can buy or download this score here. Please consider purchasing our scores for the price you want to support Ars Subtilior Editions!

Giovanni Battista Corvo (fl. 1554-5)

Mutettorum quinque vocum (Venice, 1555)

22 motets 5vv, 6vv, 8vv and 9vv  

Nunc dimittis



©2023 Jorge Martín