Music from the Rusconi Codex

We are proud to announce the forthcoming release of an extensive selection of works from the so-called Rusconi Codex (I-Bc Q.19). Now kept in the Museo Internazionale e Biblioteca della Musica di Bologna, this small choirbook, probably copied c. 1518 for the Cathedral of Padua, contains 95 works, mostly motets and a few masses (some of them unica) and, according to Robert Nosow, was copied by one of its most represented composers, a certain Renaldo (probably Petrus de Renaldis, died in 1521).

The Rusconi Codex is one of the most important music manuscripts in northern Italy in the first third of the 16th century. We are publishing a selection of over 60 works by Italian and French composers such as Jean Mouton, Renaldo, Jacquet de Mantua, Costanzo Festa, Lupus, Pierre Moulu, Maistre Jhan and others.

Music from the Rusconi Codex (I-Bc Q.19)

Sebastiano Festa (c. 1490/5-1524)

Angele Dei



Jean Mouton (c. 1459-1522)

Moriens lux amantissima



Renaldo (Petrus de Renaldis, †1521?)

Paradisi portas



Hotinet Barra (fl. 1510-1523)

Peccantem me quotidie



© 2023 Jorge Martín